Meet The Staff

Nancy Johnson

Executive Director


Nancy Johnson brings a wide range of experience in agriculture to the NDSGA. From work with seed, fertilizer and agricultural chemical companies, she has also worked in the ag media. She is using this experience to help build the association to the next level.

Scott Rising

Legislative Director


Scott Rising has been representing North Dakota soybean growers in public policy since 2008. His involvement with public policy issues is a lifelong endeavor and includes activities at both the state and federal levels. He’s been instrumental in executive-level boards for the local United Way, officer associations and other organizations. In the community, Scott has been active in youth baseball, the volunteer fire department, American Legion, Veterans of Foreign Wars and his church. A North Dakota State University graduate, Scott enjoyed more than three decades in a variety of roles with the North Dakota Air National Guard prior to joining the NDSGA.

Phil Murphy

Legislative Liason


Phil Murphy is a long-time educator and a former state senator from Portland, ND.